Heads in the sand

17 Jan

Wenige Monate vor Barack Obamas Wahlsieg habe ich mich in diesem Blog mit dem befasst, von dem ich glaubte, daß es das Ende der Vorherrschaft der Republikanischen Partei sei. Ich will in den kommenden Monaten mich erneut verstärkt auf die Themen Entwicklung der GOP im zusammenhang mit der Entwicklung der Vereinigten Staaten insgesamt konzentrieren.

Für heute sei David Brooks zitiert, der den Vorwahlkampf in South Carolina unter die Lupe genommen hat:

Republican audiences this year want a restoration. America once had strong values, they believe, but we have gone astray. We’ve got to go back and rediscover what we had. Heads nod enthusiastically every time a candidate touches this theme.

I agree with the sentiment, but it makes for an incredibly backward-looking campaign. I sometimes wonder if the Republican Party has become the receding roar of white America as it pines for a way of life that will never return.

 

 

Kommentar verfassen

